Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | Organisations | Accommodation | Photos | Classified
Your gateway to the town of Padubidri & neighbouring towns
Home | Location | Information | Sightseeing | News | Organisations | Accommodation | Photos
News and pictures by: Hareesh Kumar Hejmady
Mulki NH-66 widening: Height of the proposed stretch to be reduced far below existing level
Mulki, March 1st, 2012:  Proposed deepening of NH-66 for alignment purpose at Mulki is going to make the road around two metres deep near Mulki bus stand and around 20 feet deep opposite Vijaya Bank where an overpass will be built to connect the Mangalore Airport via Kinnigoli.  This was announced at a meeting at Mulki Town Panchayat, by Mr. Ravindranath, the project manager of Navyug Constructions for Padubidri-Suratkal sector.  The widened road will have two main highways with a width of  8.75 metres each, two service roads with a width of 6 metres each and a divider of 1.2 metres. From the underpass two service roads each of 6 metres width and 600 metres long will be constructed.  It was also informed that none of the existing buildings near Mulki bus stand will be affected by this plan.  Due to forthcoming Rathotsava in Bappanadu temple in April, the work is expected to commence after the monsoon.  It was also announced that Navyug will be building a toll gate near Hejmady and one more at Kota.

However, the president of Taximen's Association Devanna Nayak has said that th deepening of highway is likely to affect parking facilities for vehicles including auto-rickshaws, taxis and buses, and  they would protest unless an alternative arrangement is made.

Speaking on the occasion at an 'Information Meet' held on Thursday, the president of Mulky town panchayat - Shashikanth Shetty, said that the council has received information on proposed plan and after inspecting the plan, he would call for a public meeting and take necessary steps and also bring to the notice of local MPs and MLAs.  Vice president Yogeesh Kotian, Past president B.M. Asif, members Puttu Bava, Sunil Alva, Madhusudan Rao, various organisations' leaders H.V. Kotian, Devprasad Punaroor, Udaya Shetty, Balachandra Sanil and others were present.