Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | Organisations | Accommodation | Photos
Your gateway to the town of Padubidri & neighbouring towns
www.nammapadubidri.com / padubidri.com
Email: mail@nammapadubidri.com / padubidri@yahoo.com
Home | Location | Information | Sightseeing | News | Organisations | Accommodation | Photos
News and pictures by: Hareesh Kumar Hejmady and Hameed Padubidri
Pejavara Mutt Swamiji goes on a three-day fast to protest against dropping of two committee members to study environmental damages of UPCL
Padubidri, January 9th, 2012:  Pejavara Mutt Swamiji Shri Vishwesha Thirtha Sripada commenced his three-day long fast at the new  auditorium of Nandikur Shri Durga Parameshwari temple, to protest against dropping of two members from the team to study the environmental damages caused by Udupi Power Corporation's thermal power plant in Nandikur.  He demanded reinstatement of both f them and complete the report within ten days.  He also announced that he would continue his struggle against UPCL till all environmental issues are resolved.

Puttige Shri Sugunendra Sripada also spoke in support of Pejavara Swamiji and said that project like UPCL are responsible for global warming and everyone is aware of environmental damages caused by such projects.  Kemaru Shri Easha Vittaldas Swamiji also spoke on the occasion and urged the chief minister to intervene and resolve the problems.  The president of Bharatiya Satsang Samaj Swami Bhakta Thirtha, who was responsible for successfully stopping the similar project in Belgaum Aralikatte, was also present and announced to go on thee-day fast alongwith Pejavara Swamiji.

Representatives of people affected by the project, Raitha Sangha, Hasiru Sene and other organisations had gathered in support of the protest.  Raitha Sangha president Vijay Kumar Hegde,  Zilla Panchayat member Arun Shetty Padur, Taluk Panchayat members Sumana Kishore and Amitha Poojary, president of VHP Mangalore unit M.B. Puranik, Kaup Block Congress vice president Navinchandra J. Shetty, Naveen N. Shetty, Prakash Shetty Padebettu, Jayanth Kumar, Nagesh Bhat, Shashidhar Shetty, Vidyadinakar and others were present.  Temple's managing trustee Veda Moorthy Madhwaraya Bhat welcomed Pejavara Swamiji and other dignitaries.  Various Bhajana Mandalis chanted Bhajans to suppport Swamiji.