Your gateway to the town of Padubidri & neighbouring towns
Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | News in  pictures|Organisations | Accommodation | Photos |Classifieds   |Obituary |
Home | Location  | Information | Sightseeing | News | News in  pictures|Organisations
Accommodation | Photos
|Classifieds   |Obituary |
Custom Search
Aruna Rai
By: HK Hejamady
Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake inaugurates Kaup Press club
Kaup, September 4th, 2015:  Udupi district minister-in-charge and Urban Development minister Shri Vinay Kumar Sorake inaugurated Kaup Press Club for media persons from kaup, Padubidri, Katapady and Shirva, on Friday, Septemeber 4th, at a function held at Vidyanikethana Grouo of Institutes in Kaup.  Addressing the gathering that included school children, Mr. Sorake said that he would work towards extending all possible government facilities to the rural press reporters after discussing with the chief miniser and the minister concerned.  He also assured to provide an initial office space in the government building and later on provide a permanent government plot for club's own building with government grant and from his development fund.
Udayavani's senior journalist Manohar Prasad was the keynote speaker and in his address he explained the hardships faced by the media persons in 80's when there were no effective means of communication and how the photographs had to be manually developed and printed before personally handing over to the head office.  He also said how negative news items are given importance rather than useful news coverage and the biased news is affecting the integrity of the press.  "People should invite media persons out of respect and not out of fear," he said.

President of Udupi Working Jounalist's Association Jayakar Suvarna and Udupi district Information Officer Rohini K. also spoke on the occasion.  Vidyaniketha Group of Institutions correspondent K.P Acharya and press club treasurer Abdul Hameed were also present on the dais.

Kaup press club president Ramachandra Acharya welcomed the guests.  Distict Association representative Hareesh kumar Hejmady delivered opening address.  Secreary Rakesh Kunjoor proposed vote of thanks.  Sports secretary Suresh Yermal proposed vote of thanks.
A student inter-action programme with senior journalist Manohar Prasad followed thereafter.